Dustin Ackley, Mariners Get Bats Going In Houston


Apparently, the 9th inning heroics of Logan Morrison Thursday night jump started the Seattle Mariners offense. For how long, only time will tell.

The Mariners opened a three-game series with the Astros in Houston with a 10-5 win Friday night that featured plenty of offense.

Taijuan Walker got the start for the Mariners, starting against the Astros for the third time already in his short career. Walker got into trouble early as Jose Altuve doubled and scored to put the ‘Stros out in front 1-0 in the first.

Dustin Ackley tied it with a solo shot off Brad Peacock in the 3rd. The floodgates opened in the 4th.

Back to back fielding errors by the Astros put Logan Morrison and Michael Saunders aboard to start the inning. Mike Zunino then stepped in and crushed a three-run homer to left-center to put the M’s out in front 4-1.

After Brad Miller struck out, Austin Jackson and Ackley walked to bring up Robinson Cano. Cano singled to score Jackson bring Kyle Seager to the plate.

Seager, batting in the cleanup spot – which he should be if Kendrys Morales is the other choice – hit a three-run homer of his own off Jack Buchanan to put the M’s up 8-1.

The Astros added a second run off Walker and one off Brandon Maurer before Dustin Ackley went yard again in the 8th.

With the win, the Mariners move to within a half game of Kansas City for the 2nd AL Wild-Card spot as KC lost to Detroit. Oakland beat Philadelphia and is a full game in front of Seattle for the 1st wild-card spot.




Austin JacksonCF412001011.264
Dustin AckleyLF432221002.249
Robinson Canó2B513100001.321
Kyle Seager3B512310201.273
Kendrys MoralesDH300002102.220
Logan Morrison1B411001012.251
James JonesPR010000010.252
Justin Smoak1B000000000.202
Michael SaundersRF210003101.262
Mike ZuninoC512310205.199
Brad MillerSS500000100.212


2B – M Zunino (20, J De Leon)

HR – D Ackley 2 (13, 3rd inning off B Peacock 0 on, 2 Out, 8th inning off D Downs 0 on, 0 Out), K Seager (24, 4th inning off J Buchanan 2 on, 1 Out), M Zunino (21, 4th inning off B Peacock 2 on, 0 Out)

RBI – D Ackley 2 (64), R Cano (78), K Seager 3 (92), M Zunino 3 (57)

2-out RBI – D Ackley

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – A Jackson 1, K Morales 1, M Zunino 2

GIDP – D Ackley, R Cano, K Seager

Team LOB – 8


SB – A Jackson (19, 2nd base off B Peacock/J Castro), L Morrison (5, 2nd base off S Deduno/M Stassi), J Jones (27, 3rd base off S Deduno/M Stassi)

CS – M Saunders (5, 2nd base by J De Leon/M Stassi)


DP – 2 (B Miller-L Morrison, B Miller-R Cano-L Morrison)


Robbie GrossmanLF411001202.226
José AltuveDH313000010.343
Marc KraussPH-DH100000000.196
Gregorio PetitPH-DH100000000.275
Chris Carter1B300002102.234
Dexter FowlerCF502200204.269
Jason CastroC300000205.223
Max StassiC211000101.364
Matt Domínguez3B411000203.214
Marwin González2B401000000.269
Jake MarisnickRF412100000.273
Jonathan VillarSS402200112.206


2B – J Altuve (44, T Walker); J Marisnick (6, B Maurer)

RBI – D Fowler 2 (35), J Marisnick (13), J Villar 2 (26)

2-out RBI – D Fowler 2, J Villar 2

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – R Grossman 1, M Stassi 1, M Dominguez 2

GIDP – C Carter, J Villar

Team LOB – 9


SB – J Altuve (54, 2nd base off T Walker/M Zunino), J Villar (16, 2nd base off Y Medina/M Zunino)


E – C Carter (3, field); J Villar (17, throw)

PB – M Stassi

DP – 3 (M Gonzalez-J Villar-C Carter, J Buchanan-J Villar-C Carter, M Gonzalez-J Villar-C Carter)



Taijuan Walker(W, 2-2)5.28222701.473.00
Brandon Maurer1.12110101.334.91
Yoervis Medina1.03220101.272.60
Joe Beimel0.10000001.131.90
Danny Farquhar0.20001201.152.58


Brad Peacock(L, 4-9)3.16724221.574.82
Jake Buchanan2.24112211.595.06
Jorge De León1.01001002.756.75
Darin Downs0.01110011.365.45
Samuel Deduno2.00101301.454.66

WP – B Maurer, D Farquhar

Pitches-strikes – T Walker 96-66; B Maurer 16-12; Y Medina 16-12; J Beimel 2-1; D Farquhar 15-7; B Peacock 81-48; J Buchanan 44-24; J De Leon 18-10; D Downs 3-1; S Deduno 37-20

Ground balls-fly balls – T Walker 8-2; B Maurer 4-0; Y Medina 2-0; J Beimel 0-1; D Farquhar 0-0; B Peacock 7-5; J Buchanan 4-1; J De Leon 1-2; D Downs 0-1; S Deduno 3-0

Batters faced – T Walker 25; B Maurer 6; Y Medina 6; J Beimel 1; D Farquhar 3; B Peacock 21; J Buchanan 12; J De Leon 4; D Downs 1; S Deduno 7

Game Details

Game Time: 3:34.

Umpires: HP–Brian O’Nora. 1B–Hunter Wendelstedt. 2B–D.J. Reyburn. 3B–Dan Bellino.

Weather: INDOORS

Wind: 0 mph, .

Attendance: 27,568.