Mariners Attack Astros On All Sides, Win Blowout


The Seattle Mariners are now doing what they are supposed to be doing….beating the Houston Astros. Every Mariner in the starting lineup had at least one hit as they stuck it to the Astros 13-2 to get July off on the right foot.

It all starts with the top of this lineup as Endy Chavez and James Jones each got on base three times and each scored three times thanks to 3 RBI nights from Robinson Cano and Kyle Seager.

The Mariners got two in the first off Jared Cosart and the Astros responded with one in the bottom half as Hisashi Iwakuma struggled early.

But the M’s got another run in the 2nd and ‘Kuma setttled in, scattering seven hits in 6 IP striking out seven.

The Mariners blew the doors off in the 6th. And it was all with two outs and runners at 1st and 2nd. Cano doubled, which ended the night for Cosart. Seager, Logan Morrison and Mike Zunino then went back-to-back-to-back with doubles off Darin Downs. Michael Saunders and Dustin Ackley followed with RBI singles before Downs could finally get the last out.

The M’s would add two more in the 7th and then Seager put the exclamation point on it in the 9th with a solo shot to right, his 13th of the season.

Seattle goes for the sweep later today before an off day tomorrow.




Endy ChávezDH331002002.266
Cole GillespiePH-DH100000000.254
James JonesCF633200104.295
Robinson Canó2B412300003.323
Willie BloomquistPH-2B200100000.269
Kyle Seager3B523311000.279
Logan Morrison1B612100002.242
Mike ZuninoC611100304.223
Michael SaundersRF412101101.271
Dustin AckleyLF413101002.223
Brad MillerSS401001103.208


2B – E Chavez (6, J Cosart); R Cano (18, J Cosart); K Seager (21, D Downs); L Morrison (3, D Downs); M Zunino (14, D Downs); D Ackley (13, D Downs)

3B – J Jones (4, K Chapman)

HR – K Seager (13, 9th inning off J Zeid 0 on, 1 Out)

RBI – J Jones 2 (8), R Cano 3 (51), W Bloomquist (12), K Seager 3 (58), L Morrison (12), M Zunino (32), M Saunders (26), D Ackley (28)

2-out RBI – J Jones, R Cano 2, K Seager, L Morrison, M Zunino, M Saunders, D Ackley

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – J Jones 2, R Cano 2, M Zunino 1, D Ackley 1, B Miller 1

Team LOB – 11


E – B Miller (11, field)


José Altuve2B312000001.347
Kiké Hernández2B2021000001.000
Alex PresleyCF502000104.250
George SpringerRF501000205.244
Jon Singleton1B300002103.191
Matt Domínguez3B301100101.238
Jesús GuzmánPH-3B200000006.211
Jason CastroC401000102.216
Carlos CorporánC000000000.235
Chris CarterDH400000101.181
Domingo SantanaLF410000300.000
Marwin GonzálezSS402000000.274


2B – K Hernandez (1, D Leone)

RBI – K Hernandez (1), M Dominguez (38)

2-out RBI – M Dominguez

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – J Guzman 4, J Castro 1

Team LOB – 12


E – J Altuve (3, field)



Hisashi Iwakuma(W, 6-4)6.07110701.093.33
Dominic Leone1.02101201.242.12
Brandon Maurer2.02001101.636.51


Jarred Cosart(L, 8-6)5.29664301.363.93
Darin Downs0.15440001.274.12
Kevin Chapman2.03222203.0011.12
Josh Zeid1.01110111.505.63

Pitches-strikes – H Iwakuma 83-63; D Leone 28-18; B Maurer 33-22; J Cosart 110-65; D Downs 26-17; K Chapman 38-24; J Zeid 14-12

Ground balls-fly balls – H Iwakuma 10-4; D Leone 2-1; B Maurer 3-3; J Cosart 14-5; D Downs 0-1; K Chapman 4-3; J Zeid 1-1

Batters faced – H Iwakuma 25; D Leone 7; B Maurer 9; J Cosart 30; D Downs 6; K Chapman 11; J Zeid 4

Game Details

Game Time: 3:36.

Umpires: HP–Tim Timmons. 1B–Tim Welke. 2B–Todd Tichenor. 3B–Clint Fagan.

Weather: INDOORS

Wind: 0 mph, .

Attendance: 17,504.