Giancarlo Stanton, Transfer Rule, Doom Mariners In Loss


Apr 18, 2014; Miami, FL, USA; Miami Marlins right fielder Giancarlo Stanton (27) hits a game wining grand slam in the ninth inning against the Seattle Mariners at Marlins Ballpark. The Marlins won 8-4. Mandatory Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

The new transfer rule strikes again. Yoervis Medina gave up a walk-off grand slam to Giancarlo Stanton after an overturned out extended the inning, giving the Miami Marlins an 8-4 win over the visiting Seattle Mariners Friday.

The Marlins jumped on Mariners starter Chris Young in the first with two runs. But the M’s tied it up in the top of the 2nd with an RBI single by Dustin Ackley that became an inside-the-park homer via error as right fielder Stanton misplayed the ball.

The Marlins answered back with a sac fly in the bottom of the 2nd and a solo homer in the 3rd to take the lead at 4-2.

With the score 4-3, the M’s tied it again in the 7th with a Corey Hart RBI single. Joe Beimel, Tom Wilhelmsen and Charlie Furbush all held serve through 4.1 scoreless innings. In the 8th, Yoervis Medina came in and got the final two outs of the 8th.

But in the 9th, Reed Johnson and Christian Yelich singled to leadoff the inning. Marcell Ozuna then hit a comebacker to Medina, who fielded the ball and threw to Kyle Seager for the force at 3rd. The dreaded secured catch reared its ugly head again against the M’s as the force out at 3rd was overturned by replay, confirming that Seager bobbled the ball.

See the play below.

So with the bases loaded and no one out, Stanton hit a 1-2 curveball to left-center for a walk-off grand slam. The Mariners have now lost four in a row.  They look to break the skid Saturday back in Miami against the Marlins.




Abraham AlmonteCF522000202.246
Brad MillerSS500100000.203
Robinson Cano2B501000102.266
Corey Hart1B-RF502100001.250
Michael SaundersRF311001003.214
Charlie FurbushP000000000.000
Justin Smoak1B000000000.246
Kyle Seager3B402000101.170
Dustin AckleyLF411000103.291
Mike ZuninoC301001101.280
Chris YoungP100000000.000
Nick FranklinPH100000003.125
Joe BeimelP000000000.000
Tom WilhelmsenP000000000.000
Stefen RomeroPH100000000.158
James JonesRF1010000001.000
Yoervis MedinaP000000000.000


2B – A Almonte (4, M Dunn); K Seager (4, N Eovaldi); M Zunino (2, A Ramos)

3B – A Almonte (1, N Eovaldi)

RBI – B Miller (7), C Hart (7)

2-out RBI – C Hart

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – A Almonte 1, M Saunders 1, M Zunino 1, N Franklin 2

GIDP – D Ackley

Team LOB – 9


E – K Seager (2, field)

DP – 1 (R Cano-B Miller-C Hart)


Christian YelichLF513000000.338
Marcell OzunaCF421100000.333
Giancarlo StantonRF323512000.329
Garrett Jones1B401000104.231
Casey McGehee3B401100101.302
Jarrod SaltalamacchiaC312111000.300
Derek Dietrich2B200000002.267
Jeff BakerPH-2B100000100.103
Adeiny HechavarriaSS300001001.292
Nathan EovaldiP211000100.286
Greg DobbsPH100000000.100
Mike DunnP000000000.000
A.J. RamosP000000000.000
Steve CishekP000000000.000
Reed JohnsonPH111000000.250


2B – C Yelich (3, J Beimel); M Ozuna (4, C Young)

HR – G Stanton (6, 9th inning off Y Medina 3 on, 0 Out), J Saltalamacchia (2, 3rd inning off C Young 0 on, 1 Out)

S – M Ozuna

SF – M Ozuna

RBI – M Ozuna (6), G Stanton 5 (26), C McGehee (14), J Saltalamacchia (5)

2-out RBI – C McGehee

Runners left in scoring position, 2 out – G Jones 1, D Dietrich 1

GIDP – C McGehee

Team LOB – 7


CS – A Hechavarria (2, 2nd base by C Young/M Zunino)

Picked Off – J Saltalamacchia (1st base, J Beimel)


E – G Stanton (2, field); D Dietrich (4, field)

DP – 1 (D Dietrich-A Hechavarria-G Jones)



Chris Young3.07443011.553.27
Joe Beimel2.02001301.222.00
Tom Wilhelmsen1.00000001.744.26
Charlie Furbush1.11000001.594.76
Yoervis Medina(L, 0-1)0.23400111.441.08


Nathan Eovaldi6.07312401.143.55
Mike Dunn(HLD, 3)0.21100002.058.53
A.J. Ramos(BS, 1)1.13000101.431.17
Steve Cishek(W, 1-0)1.00000100.600.00

WP – C Young

IBB – G Stanton 2 (by C Young, by J Beimel); M Zunino (by N Eovaldi)

HBP – D Dietrich (by J Beimel)

Pitches-strikes – C Furbush 9-8; C Young 73-38; J Beimel 23-16; T Wilhelmsen 12-6; Y Medina 20-14; N Eovaldi 97-69; M Dunn 8-6; A Ramos 31-20; S Cishek 16-11

Ground balls-fly balls – C Furbush 1-1; C Young 7-4; J Beimel 3-0; T Wilhelmsen 0-2; Y Medina 0-1; N Eovaldi 13-5; M Dunn 1-3; A Ramos 3-1; S Cishek 1-1

Batters faced – C Furbush 4; C Young 17; J Beimel 9; T Wilhelmsen 3; Y Medina 6; N Eovaldi 26; M Dunn 4; A Ramos 7; S Cishek 3

Game Details

Game Time: 3:09.

Umpires: HP–Dana DeMuth. 1B–Toby Basner. 2B–Ed Hickox. 3B–Lance Barrett.

Weather: INDOORS

Wind: 0 mph, no wind direction.

Attendance: 21,388.