MLB Hall of Fame: Sodo Mojo Writers Sound Off


Today, we find out who will join Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa and Joe Torre in the 2014 MLB Hall of Fame class. One thing we can predict with certainty- Mark McGwire, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens will not be among those enshrined.

I wrote in great detail earlier this week about my ballot and why I voted for the 10 I picked. But now, I want to give you the ballots of all of the Sodo Mojo writers and reveal the results of our poll. First the writers.

Matt Seto- (9) Edgar Martinez, Craig Biggio, Mike Piazza, Mark McGwire, Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas.

Charlie Spencer-Davis- (10) Edgar Martinez, Craig Biggio, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Mike Mussina, Greg Maddux, Mike Piazza, Jeff Bagwell, Curt Schilling, Larry Walker.

Daniel Shearer- (5) Edgar Martinez, Mike Piazza, Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux, Curt Schilling.

JJ Keller- (10) Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux, Tim Raines, Mike Mussina, Jeff Bagwell, Curt Schilling, Edgar Martinez, Mark McGwire.

Dan Hughes- (10) Edgar Martinez, Roger Clemens, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Barry Bonds, Mark McGwire, Frank Thomas, Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Fred McGriff.

Now for the results of our poll. There were 75 responses to the poll with a total of 632 votes (less than 8.5 votes per ballot).

Greg Maddux- 68 votes (91%)
Frank Thomas- 57 votes (76%)
Tom Glavine- 57 votes (76%)

Those would be the three elected this year based on our poll.

Mike Piazza (69%), Craig Biggio (67%), Edgar Martinez (56%) and Jeff Bagwell (55%) were the next closest.

After that: Tim Raines (40%), Curt Schilling (37%), Jack Morris (37%), Roger Clemens (31%), Fred McGriff (31%), Mike Mussina (25%), Alan Trammell (24%), Barry Bonds (20%), Lee Smith (17%), Don Mattingly (17%), Mark McGwire (15%), Larry Walker (12%), Jeff Kent (12%), Sammy Sosa (7%), Rafael Palmeiro (5%) and Moises Alou (5%) would all receive enough votes to stay on the ballot for another year.

The ones that got less than 5% in our poll. I also would like to know who voted for these people and would love to hear the reasoning: Hideo Nomo and Luis Gonzalez (4%), Ray Durham and Sean Casey (3%), Kenny Rogers, Richie Sexson and Jacque Jones (1%).

So even on a Mariners site, Edgar Martinez doesn’t get enough support to get in. But his numbers here are about double of those he is projected to get when the announcement comes later today.

We will have the breakdown of Edgar’s votes tonight.