Mariners Season Of Change Could Result In Multiple Postseason Awards

2 of 4

Sep 2, 2014; Oakland, CA, USA; Seattle Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager (15) throws the ball to second base to start a double play against the Oakland Athletics during the eighth inning at Coliseum. Mandatory Credit: Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

AL Gold Glove

You have to go back to 2010 to find the last Mariners to win the Gold Glove. That year, both Ichiro and Franklin Gutierrez took home the hardware.

Once again, we look to Kyle Seager, who leads all AL third basemen with a .977 fielding percentage and 299 assists. He’s also second in the AL in defensive runs saved (8). He’s second in the AL in double plays among third basemen (Donaldson- OAK) but Donaldson has committed more than twice as many errors as Seager. Kyle should be getting the Gold Glove this season.

At second base, Robinson Cano has turned in another Gold Glove-worthy season. Since 2010, Cano and Dustin Pedroia have alternated winning the award. Cano in 2010 and 2012, Pedroia in 2011 and 2013 (also in 2008).

Pedroia leads the league this year in fielding percentage (.997) with Cano second (.992). Pedroia has committed only two errors this season, to Cano’s five.

The Gold Glove doesn’t always just go to the player with the best fielding percentage. But the numbers do point to Pedroia breaking the back-and-forth this season.

Pedroia has a commanding lead on Cano in dWAR (2.4 to 0.6) but with Pedroia having a down year at the plate and the Mariners being in the playoff chase, the voters may give it to Cano.

Felix Hernandez has a shot for a Gold Glove as well. As one of 10 American League qualifying pitchers to not commit an error this season – the list also includes Roenis Elias – Felix stands out having pitched more innings than the other nine, meaning he has put himself out there more often to be in a situation to make plays.

Felix has 24 assists (1st), 10 putouts (4th) and 2 double plays (3rd). It’s not impossible to believe that Felix could walk away with his first Gold Glove in 2014 and become the first Mariner to win it since Mark Langston (1987 & 1988).

In fact, it’s not too crazy to believe that the Mariners could end up with three winners.